NOTE
As it is related to Windows regisrty it can be dangerous
so,Try This at ur own risk
To write your name on right click application
please follow the steps.
1.Copy/Paste the following code in Notepad And then Save it as .reg
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Registry Editor]
@="Your Name Or Name of the Application"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Registry Editor\command]
@="Location Of The Application"
2.Now edit it and then Type your name In
Eg:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Registry Editor]
@="SHRENIK"
3. If u want to get any application, once you click Your name or name of application
Then , Type the location Of the application Which u want to open In:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Registry Editor\command]
@="Location Of The Application"
For eg.C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\messenger.exe
Thats It finally save it And then Run it .
------------------------------------------------------------
To add Application Shutdown
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\[Shutdown]\command]
@="shutdown -s -f -t 5"
To add Application Add/Remove
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Add/Remove\command]
@="control appwiz.cpl"
To add Application Control Panel
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Control Panel\command]
@="rundll32.exe shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL"
To add Application Reboot
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\[Reboot]\command]
@="shutdown -r -f -t 5"
Blog Archive
Friends Wings
Translator
Recent Visitors
Leave a Comment
Showing posts with label xp tricks. Show all posts
Showing posts with label xp tricks. Show all posts
Add ur name or application to right click of My Computer
Labels:
right click on my computer,
xp tricks
Recover a Corrupted System File
If an essential Windows file gets whacked by a virus or otherwise corrupted, restore it from the Windows CD. Search the CD for the filename, replacing the last character with an underscore; for example, Notepad.ex_. If it's found, open a command prompt and enter the command EXPAND, followed by the full pathname of the file and of the desired destination: EXPAND D:\SETUP\NOTEPAD.EX_ C:\Windows\NOTEPAD.EXE. If either pathname contains any spaces, surround it with double quotes.
If the file isn't found, search on the unmodified filename. It will probably be inside a CAB file, which Win XP treats as a folder. Simply right-drag and copy the file to the desired location. In other Windows platforms, search for a file matching *.cab that contains the filename. When the search is done, open a command prompt and enter EXTRACT /L followed by the desired location, the full pathname of the CAB file, and the desired filename; for example: EXTRACT /L C:\Windows D:\I386\Driver.cab Notepad.exe. Again, if the destination or CAB file pathname contains spaces, surround it with double quotes.
If the file isn't found, search on the unmodified filename. It will probably be inside a CAB file, which Win XP treats as a folder. Simply right-drag and copy the file to the desired location. In other Windows platforms, search for a file matching *.cab that contains the filename. When the search is done, open a command prompt and enter EXTRACT /L followed by the desired location, the full pathname of the CAB file, and the desired filename; for example: EXTRACT /L C:\Windows D:\I386\Driver.cab Notepad.exe. Again, if the destination or CAB file pathname contains spaces, surround it with double quotes.
hack/change your Windows XP Boot Screen
HACKING THE XP BOOT SCREEN
This is a very simple trick to do if you have done the same for the logon screen and the start button. There are 2 ways to do this trick that I know about one is doing it manually and the other is using a program called bootxp. I am going to tell you the manual way to do it, but if you want to know the other way just let me know, so I can do an update to the guide. Now once you have downloaded your ntoskrnl.exe file save it a general location so that you will have easy access to it, like my folder.
Once you have ntoskrnl.exe file in an easy access folder, restart your pc into safe mode. Once into safe mode go to the folder where your files are located.
Now that you are there copy the file that you want to change your boot screen too. Once you have copied that file, hit the window key + r or type %windir%\system32 in the run command, so that folder as follows.
Once there paste your new file into the folder and overwrite the existing folder.
Now that you have your new file in the folder restart your pc as you normally would and your new boot screen should appear. You can download this bootscreen here.
ALWAYS BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU EDIT OR DELETE. I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU MESS YOUR COMPUTER UP BY DOING THIS HACK OR ANY TYPE OF HACK. DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
Image and ntoskrnl.exe files provided by www.themexp.org
or
u can go to
code:
http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/hackxpbootscreen.php
This is a very simple trick to do if you have done the same for the logon screen and the start button. There are 2 ways to do this trick that I know about one is doing it manually and the other is using a program called bootxp. I am going to tell you the manual way to do it, but if you want to know the other way just let me know, so I can do an update to the guide. Now once you have downloaded your ntoskrnl.exe file save it a general location so that you will have easy access to it, like my folder.
Once you have ntoskrnl.exe file in an easy access folder, restart your pc into safe mode. Once into safe mode go to the folder where your files are located.
Now that you are there copy the file that you want to change your boot screen too. Once you have copied that file, hit the window key + r or type %windir%\system32 in the run command, so that folder as follows.
Once there paste your new file into the folder and overwrite the existing folder.
Now that you have your new file in the folder restart your pc as you normally would and your new boot screen should appear. You can download this bootscreen here.
ALWAYS BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU EDIT OR DELETE. I'M NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU MESS YOUR COMPUTER UP BY DOING THIS HACK OR ANY TYPE OF HACK. DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
Image and ntoskrnl.exe files provided by www.themexp.org
or
u can go to
code:
http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/hackxpbootscreen.php
Disable Fax & Picture Viewer in XP
We all know that WinXP likes to keep itself held together, and how it doesnt like you uninstalling certain components. Well The Picture and Fax Viewer, is one of these programs which can cause problems if removed incorrectly. It can be disabled safely as follows:
[Start] [Run] type regedit and click [OK]
Navigate to :
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/ SystemFileAssociations/ image/ ShellEx/ ContextMenuHandlers
then delete the Folder ShellImagePreview under ContextMenuHandlers
Note: If you want to restore the Picture and Fax Viewer :
Create the ShellImagePreview folder and create the String Value (Default)
Assign it the value {e84fda7c-1d6a-45f6-b725-cb260c236066}
NOTE: This tweak doesnt uninstall the program. It removes the association and therefore it cannot be run.
[Start] [Run] type regedit and click [OK]
Navigate to :
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/ SystemFileAssociations/ image/ ShellEx/ ContextMenuHandlers
then delete the Folder ShellImagePreview under ContextMenuHandlers
Note: If you want to restore the Picture and Fax Viewer :
Create the ShellImagePreview folder and create the String Value (Default)
Assign it the value {e84fda7c-1d6a-45f6-b725-cb260c236066}
NOTE: This tweak doesnt uninstall the program. It removes the association and therefore it cannot be run.
How To Remove and Add Right-Click Menu Items from Files and Folders
Removing Items
A lot of programs you install will add themselves to the right-click menu of your files and/or folders. And most times, you have no choice in the matter and, as a result, your right-click menu can get very long with added items you don't even use. The last person I was helping with this had a right context menu so long that the Rename option was no longer visible!
Fortunately, you can easily remove those unwanted menu items, if you know the registry values to edit. And it's not at all difficult once you know the keys responsible for the additions.
For Files, the secret lies in the "context menu handlers" under the shellex subkey for "All Files" which, in the registry, is nothing but an asterisk - like a dos wildcard, which means the values entered apply to all files. It is at the very top of the Root key, right here:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
Click the the + sign next to the ContextMenuHandlers key, to expand it.
Now you will see some of the programs that have added items to your right-click menu. Simply delete the program keys you don't want.
Yup! It's that simple. If deleting makes you uneasy, just export the key before deleting it. Or, instead of deleting the values, disable them. Simply double click the default value for the program on the right hand pane and rename the clsid value by placing a period or dash in front of it.
ie; - {b5eedee0-c06e-11cf-8c56-444553540000}
Then exit the registry, refresh, and right click a file to see if the item was removed from the menu.
Some programs - like WinZip or WinRar - will add several items to your right click menu but all of them will be removed by deleting or disabling their one context menu handler.
Note that the above key only applies to the right click menu of files.
To remove entries from the right click context menu of folders, you need to navigate to the Folder and Drive keys:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
All you have to do is follow the same procedure as for Files - either disable or delete items you wish to remove.
Adding Items
Adding Items to the right click menu of Files and Folders is also fairly simple using the Registry. It just involves the creation of a few new keys for each item you wish to add. You edit the same keys used for removing items. Let's use Notepad as an example of an item you'd like to add to the right click menu of all your files or folders.
For folders, go to this key:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder
Click the + sign next to Folder and expand it so that the Shell key is visible. Right click the Shell key and choose New>Key and name the key Notepad or whatever else you'd prefer (whatever the key is named is what will appear in the right-click menu). Now right click the new key you made and create another key named Command. Then, in the right hand pane, double click "Default" and enter Notepad.exe as the value.
Exit the registry, refresh, and right click any folder. Notepad should now be on the context menu.
For files, go here again:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*
Expand the * key and see if a Shell key exists. If it does exist, follow the same procedure as for folders. If it does not exist, you'll have to create a new Shell first. Just right click the * key and choose New>Key and name it Shell. Then right click the Shell key and continue on the same way you did for adding items to the right click menu of folders.
Once done, Notepad should appear as an option in the right click menu of all your files.
A lot of programs you install will add themselves to the right-click menu of your files and/or folders. And most times, you have no choice in the matter and, as a result, your right-click menu can get very long with added items you don't even use. The last person I was helping with this had a right context menu so long that the Rename option was no longer visible!
Fortunately, you can easily remove those unwanted menu items, if you know the registry values to edit. And it's not at all difficult once you know the keys responsible for the additions.
For Files, the secret lies in the "context menu handlers" under the shellex subkey for "All Files" which, in the registry, is nothing but an asterisk - like a dos wildcard, which means the values entered apply to all files. It is at the very top of the Root key, right here:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
Click the the + sign next to the ContextMenuHandlers key, to expand it.
Now you will see some of the programs that have added items to your right-click menu. Simply delete the program keys you don't want.
Yup! It's that simple. If deleting makes you uneasy, just export the key before deleting it. Or, instead of deleting the values, disable them. Simply double click the default value for the program on the right hand pane and rename the clsid value by placing a period or dash in front of it.
ie; - {b5eedee0-c06e-11cf-8c56-444553540000}
Then exit the registry, refresh, and right click a file to see if the item was removed from the menu.
Some programs - like WinZip or WinRar - will add several items to your right click menu but all of them will be removed by deleting or disabling their one context menu handler.
Note that the above key only applies to the right click menu of files.
To remove entries from the right click context menu of folders, you need to navigate to the Folder and Drive keys:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers
All you have to do is follow the same procedure as for Files - either disable or delete items you wish to remove.
Adding Items
Adding Items to the right click menu of Files and Folders is also fairly simple using the Registry. It just involves the creation of a few new keys for each item you wish to add. You edit the same keys used for removing items. Let's use Notepad as an example of an item you'd like to add to the right click menu of all your files or folders.
For folders, go to this key:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder
Click the + sign next to Folder and expand it so that the Shell key is visible. Right click the Shell key and choose New>Key and name the key Notepad or whatever else you'd prefer (whatever the key is named is what will appear in the right-click menu). Now right click the new key you made and create another key named Command. Then, in the right hand pane, double click "Default" and enter Notepad.exe as the value.
Exit the registry, refresh, and right click any folder. Notepad should now be on the context menu.
For files, go here again:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*
Expand the * key and see if a Shell key exists. If it does exist, follow the same procedure as for folders. If it does not exist, you'll have to create a new Shell first. Just right click the * key and choose New>Key and name it Shell. Then right click the Shell key and continue on the same way you did for adding items to the right click menu of folders.
Once done, Notepad should appear as an option in the right click menu of all your files.
Labels:
right click menu tricks,
xp tricks
How to change serial no. in XP
Step 1
Open Start/Run... and type the command:
regedit and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
Go to HKey_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\WindowsNT\Current Version\WPAEvents,
on the right double click on "oobetimer" and change at least one digit of this value to deactivate windows.
Click "OK" and close the Registry Editor.
Step 2
Open Start/Run... and type the command:
%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
This will bring up the "Activate Windows" window.
Check the option for "Yes, I want to telephone a customer service representative to activate Windows" and click "Next"
Step 3
Then click "Change Product Key" (don't enter any information on that screen)
Step 4
Type in the new key and click "Update"
The activate Windows by phone window will reappear at this point, just close it by clicking the X in the upper right hand corner
Step 5
Reboot your system and Open Start/Run... and type the command:
%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
If you see "Windows is already activated" then everything is OK.
Open Start/Run... and type the command:
regedit and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
Go to HKey_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\WindowsNT\Current Version\WPAEvents,
on the right double click on "oobetimer" and change at least one digit of this value to deactivate windows.
Click "OK" and close the Registry Editor.
Step 2
Open Start/Run... and type the command:
%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
This will bring up the "Activate Windows" window.
Check the option for "Yes, I want to telephone a customer service representative to activate Windows" and click "Next"
Step 3
Then click "Change Product Key" (don't enter any information on that screen)
Step 4
Type in the new key and click "Update"
The activate Windows by phone window will reappear at this point, just close it by clicking the X in the upper right hand corner
Step 5
Reboot your system and Open Start/Run... and type the command:
%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a and click "OK" (or press ENTER).
If you see "Windows is already activated" then everything is OK.
Have Notepad in Send To
Many apply a registry tweak to have notepad as an option for unknown file types. We frequently see such files which are actually just text, but named with some odd file-extension. And then, some suspicious files which we want to make sure what the contents are. Well, in such cases where the registry tweak is applied, the downside happens to be that even some known files get associated with notepad - but no, all we want is to be able to open a file with notepad - the association part in such cases is unwanted interference. Also, notepad becomes a permanent fixture on the right-click menu - which is again an annoyance.
So what we do, is to have notepad as an option in the Send-To options, of the right-click menu in explorer. It fulfils the purpose to perfection (atleast, in my case). Here's what we do:
1. right-click desktop, choose "New >> Shortcut"
2. Type the location of the item - "notepad" - (that's all, no need to give path)
3. Next >> type name for shortcut - "Edit with Notepad"
4. Click finish
5. Now right-click this shortcut on the desktop, and choose properties.
6. Confirm that the "target" and "start in" fields are using variables - "%windir%\system32\notepad.exe" - (absolute paths will be problematic if you use this .LNK on machines other than your own)
7. Now, browse to "%UserProfile%\SendTo" in explorer (which means "C:\Documents and Settings\User_Name\SendTo\" folder)
8. And copy the "Edit with Notepad.lnk" file which you already created, to that folder.
9. So now, you can right-click on ANY file-type, and be offered an option to open with notepad, from the SendTo sub-menu.
So now, you just right-click on an .nfo or .eml or .diz file (which are associated with other programs, and are sometimes just plain-text files), and choose "Send To >> Edit with Notepad" and it will open in notepad!
No more botheration of applying registry tweaks for something as simple as this.
So what we do, is to have notepad as an option in the Send-To options, of the right-click menu in explorer. It fulfils the purpose to perfection (atleast, in my case). Here's what we do:
1. right-click desktop, choose "New >> Shortcut"
2. Type the location of the item - "notepad" - (that's all, no need to give path)
3. Next >> type name for shortcut - "Edit with Notepad"
4. Click finish
5. Now right-click this shortcut on the desktop, and choose properties.
6. Confirm that the "target" and "start in" fields are using variables - "%windir%\system32\notepad.exe" - (absolute paths will be problematic if you use this .LNK on machines other than your own)
7. Now, browse to "%UserProfile%\SendTo" in explorer (which means "C:\Documents and Settings\User_Name\SendTo\" folder)
8. And copy the "Edit with Notepad.lnk" file which you already created, to that folder.
9. So now, you can right-click on ANY file-type, and be offered an option to open with notepad, from the SendTo sub-menu.
So now, you just right-click on an .nfo or .eml or .diz file (which are associated with other programs, and are sometimes just plain-text files), and choose "Send To >> Edit with Notepad" and it will open in notepad!
No more botheration of applying registry tweaks for something as simple as this.
Labels:
notepad tricks,
sendto tricks,
xp tricks
enable the Hibernation feature in windows XP
In windows environment, the hibernation is a built-in feature used to increases your work performance and also minimizes the windows startup time. For example, if you have to keep open a lot of files and windows applications then you can leave you system in hibernate mode without closing the open programs. When you restart computer after hibernation, all the running files and applications will be restore as you have left them. Windows store the all hibernated information in the Hiberfil.sys file using system root folder. The size of this file is roughly equal to the RAM of your system.
Follow the given steps to activate the hibernation in windows XP:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
First click on Start button> Control Panel, click on Performance and Maintenance then click on Power Options.
A new "Power Options Properties" dialog box will appear, select Hibernate tab and then select the "Enable hibernation" check box to enable the hibernate feature.
If you system does not support the hibernation feature then the hibernation tab will not available there.
Now click on Apply button to implement the changes then click on Ok button to end the configuration process.
After enabling the hibernation feature click on Start button then click on "Turn off Computer". In the "Turn off Computer" dialog box, press the "Shift" for some time and click on Hibernate button. Your system will take some time to complete the hibernation process.
Follow the given steps to activate the hibernation in windows XP:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
First click on Start button> Control Panel, click on Performance and Maintenance then click on Power Options.
A new "Power Options Properties" dialog box will appear, select Hibernate tab and then select the "Enable hibernation" check box to enable the hibernate feature.
If you system does not support the hibernation feature then the hibernation tab will not available there.
Now click on Apply button to implement the changes then click on Ok button to end the configuration process.
After enabling the hibernation feature click on Start button then click on "Turn off Computer". In the "Turn off Computer" dialog box, press the "Shift" for some time and click on Hibernate button. Your system will take some time to complete the hibernation process.
Labels:
hibernate in xp,
xp tricks
Write A Batch File To Start Program In Startup
You can start your computer applications automatically and control the sequence of the programs when your computer comes up.
Here we consider you want to run three different applications (WordPad, calculator, and notepad) and minimized automatically with sequence at windows startup. However, you can write a batch file to do the job for you. Open any text editor like notepad and type the following command.
start /min wordpad.exe start /min calc.exe start /min notepad.exe
Now choose the option, Save As to save this file with .bat extension. For example filename.bat.
Now Right- click on Start button and choose open > Double click Programs > here open Startup folder. Now drag your .bat file in the Startup folder and close the dialog box.
Next time When you restart the computer, WordPad, Calc will start first and then Notepad. You won't see the batch file run because you told it to run minimized.
Here we consider you want to run three different applications (WordPad, calculator, and notepad) and minimized automatically with sequence at windows startup. However, you can write a batch file to do the job for you. Open any text editor like notepad and type the following command.
start /min wordpad.exe start /min calc.exe start /min notepad.exe
Now choose the option, Save As to save this file with .bat extension. For example filename.bat.
Now Right- click on Start button and choose open > Double click Programs > here open Startup folder. Now drag your .bat file in the Startup folder and close the dialog box.
Next time When you restart the computer, WordPad, Calc will start first and then Notepad. You won't see the batch file run because you told it to run minimized.
Labels:
batch file tricks,
xp tricks
set specified folder view to all Folder Views in windows XP and Vista
Today tip will help you to manage the specified view of all folders in windows XP and Vista. By default, you have options to choose the view of folders contents as thumbnails, titles, icons, list or display with details. But this change will apply on the folders that you are currently working in. On the other hand, with the just few more clicks, you can change the view of all the folders on your computer.
Follow the given steps to accomplish this task through the Folder Options dialog box.
First of all open any folder, click "View" and choose the view you would most like to use.
Now from the Tools menu, click on Folder Options" to open the Folder Options dialog box.
Here on Folder Options dialog box, select the View tab.
At the top of the dialog box, click Apply to all folders button.
Now a new confirmation message will appear as "Set all the folders on your computer to match the current folders view settings (except for toolbars and folder task)? Change will occur the next time you open them."
Click OK in the Folder Options window to save the changes.
Now all the folders on your computer should display contents in your chosen view. As before, you can still change the view in individual folders via the "View" button
Follow the given steps to accomplish this task through the Folder Options dialog box.
First of all open any folder, click "View" and choose the view you would most like to use.
Now from the Tools menu, click on Folder Options" to open the Folder Options dialog box.
Here on Folder Options dialog box, select the View tab.
At the top of the dialog box, click Apply to all folders button.
Now a new confirmation message will appear as "Set all the folders on your computer to match the current folders view settings (except for toolbars and folder task)? Change will occur the next time you open them."
Click OK in the Folder Options window to save the changes.
Now all the folders on your computer should display contents in your chosen view. As before, you can still change the view in individual folders via the "View" button
Labels:
folder tricks,
xp tricks
Print and Edit Through DOS Mode
If you are working at the Command Prompt your can modify and print the text file very easily. There are different ways to print text a file while working at the Command Prompt. Assuming the file you want to print is in your current folder, you can type here with your file name with extension. For example
print filename.txt
and press Enter. Here .txt is the file extension. You must use the extension. Now in the same way you can edit this file before printing with given command
edit filename.txt
and press Enter. This command opens the MS-DOS Editor to edit this file. Edit the file and then press Alt, F, P to print it.
print filename.txt
and press Enter. Here .txt is the file extension. You must use the extension. Now in the same way you can edit this file before printing with given command
edit filename.txt
and press Enter. This command opens the MS-DOS Editor to edit this file. Edit the file and then press Alt, F, P to print it.
Labels:
dos tricks print via dos,
xp tricks
View previously open Folders after Shutdown or Logoff
If you need to access lot of folders on your home computer or on the network regularly then you can set them re-open automatically, when you will login, shutdown or restart your computer next time. There is no need to open regularly used folders manually, just configure the simple sitting, your computer will automatically reload all the previously opened windows.
By default windows XP disables this option to reload automatically all the previously opened windows, when you login on, shutdown or restart your computer.
Follow the given steps to configure your computer to reload previously opened folders automatically after shutdown.
*To edit this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
*First click on Start button then go to Control Panel.
*Open the “Appearance and Themes” option in control panel then click on Folder Options.
*A small windows dialog box will appear with the title “Folder options”, click on View tab.
*Under the Advanced setting section, scroll down to bottom and click the “Restore previous folder windows at logon” option and then click Ok button to save sitting.
*Now when you log off, restart or shutdown, your computer will automatically open the previously opened folders from the same location as before.
By default windows XP disables this option to reload automatically all the previously opened windows, when you login on, shutdown or restart your computer.
Follow the given steps to configure your computer to reload previously opened folders automatically after shutdown.
*To edit this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
*First click on Start button then go to Control Panel.
*Open the “Appearance and Themes” option in control panel then click on Folder Options.
*A small windows dialog box will appear with the title “Folder options”, click on View tab.
*Under the Advanced setting section, scroll down to bottom and click the “Restore previous folder windows at logon” option and then click Ok button to save sitting.
*Now when you log off, restart or shutdown, your computer will automatically open the previously opened folders from the same location as before.
Logoff your computer automatically after a period of inactivity
Today tip will help you to log off your computer automatically after some specific period of inactivity. Because most of the users left logged on their computer may represent a security threat for the company. For this purpose, first install the Winexit.scr tools that includes in Windows 2003 Resource Kit (rktools.exe) and you can free download it from Microsoft site.
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
After installing the rktools.exe setup, locate the Winexit.scr file in the following location.
C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools
Here right click no Winexit.scr file and select the Install option.
A Display Properties dialog box will appear, select Screen Saver tab and choose "Logoff Screen Saver" entry under the Screen saver area.
Now click on Setting button, again a small dialog box will appear with the title "WinExit Setup Dialog".
Here select the "Force application termination" check box under the "Force logoff" area and type the number of seconds in "Countdown for n seconds" box under Time to logoff area.
Now type the message that appears during the logoff countdown timer in the "Logoff Message" box and click on Ok button.
Click on "Preview" button to verify the settings.
Here a small dialog box will appear with the title "Auto logoff in progress", it displays the countdown timer and logoff message.
Click on Cancel then Ok button to finish the process.
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
After installing the rktools.exe setup, locate the Winexit.scr file in the following location.
C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools
Here right click no Winexit.scr file and select the Install option.
A Display Properties dialog box will appear, select Screen Saver tab and choose "Logoff Screen Saver" entry under the Screen saver area.
Now click on Setting button, again a small dialog box will appear with the title "WinExit Setup Dialog".
Here select the "Force application termination" check box under the "Force logoff" area and type the number of seconds in "Countdown for n seconds" box under Time to logoff area.
Now type the message that appears during the logoff countdown timer in the "Logoff Message" box and click on Ok button.
Click on "Preview" button to verify the settings.
Here a small dialog box will appear with the title "Auto logoff in progress", it displays the countdown timer and logoff message.
Click on Cancel then Ok button to finish the process.
Labels:
Logoff pc automatically,
logoff tricks,
xp tricks
Enable the hidden files and folders function in XP
Today tip will help you to solve the problem with hidden files and folders in windows XP. Normally in windows XP, you can view the hidden files and folders using the path, Tool>Folder Options>View, and then check the “Show hidden files and folders" radio box. But sometime due to some spyware/trojan attacks, this radio box is unchecked automatically and you could not show the system hidden files and folders.

Follow the given steps to visible the hidden files and folders:
1.To edit the computer registry, first you should log onto your computer with administrative rights.
2.Click Start button and type regedit in Run option then press Enter for next.
3.Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
Advanced\Folde r\Hidden\SHOWALL
4.Now in right side panel, double click on the DWORD value “CheckedValue", here a small dialog box will appear with the title “Edit Dword Value".
5.To modify the “Value data" information as DWORD Value to 1 then click on Ok button to finish the process.
6.Now you can easily view the hidden files and folders using the path, Tool>Folder Options>View and then check “Show hidden files and folders" radio box.
7.But next time, if you want to disable this functionality then simply change the value of data box to old value.

Follow the given steps to visible the hidden files and folders:
1.To edit the computer registry, first you should log onto your computer with administrative rights.
2.Click Start button and type regedit in Run option then press Enter for next.
3.Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
Advanced\Folde r\Hidden\SHOWALL
4.Now in right side panel, double click on the DWORD value “CheckedValue", here a small dialog box will appear with the title “Edit Dword Value".
5.To modify the “Value data" information as DWORD Value to 1 then click on Ok button to finish the process.
6.Now you can easily view the hidden files and folders using the path, Tool>Folder Options>View and then check “Show hidden files and folders" radio box.
7.But next time, if you want to disable this functionality then simply change the value of data box to old value.
Labels:
enable hidden files option,
hidden files,
xp tricks
Enable/disable the compressed (zipped) folder Feature
Today tip will help you to enable/disable the built-in feature of compression or de-compression in windows XP. Windows display the several default frequently used shortcuts in "Send To" menu, for example Compressed (zipped) Folder and others. But if you want to use any third-party application in windows XP for compression or de-compression then you can disable this windows built-in compressed folder feature.
Follow the given steps to disable the windows built-in compressed folder feature:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
Click Start button and then click on Run option to open run dialog box.
Now type the following command in Run box and press Ok button.
regsvr32 /u %windir%\system32\zipfldr.dll
A small message will appear with title "RegSvr32" and the message is "DllUnregisterServer in C:\WINDOWS\system32\zipfldr.dll succeeded." Click on Ok button.
Now right click on any file or folder to verify the change.
Follow the given steps to disable the windows built-in compressed folder feature:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
Click Start button and then click on Run option to open run dialog box.
Now type the following command in Run box and press Ok button.
regsvr32 /u %windir%\system32\zipfldr.dll
A small message will appear with title "RegSvr32" and the message is "DllUnregisterServer in C:\WINDOWS\system32\zipfldr.dll succeeded." Click on Ok button.
Now right click on any file or folder to verify the change.
Labels:
enable zip folder feature,
xp tricks
Disable or Enable Auto run CD in XP
In windows XP you can enjoy a good feature to run CD or DVD automatically when you loaded it into you CD drives on your computer. This is a defaults feature in windows XP but you can disable and enable it according to your nature of work. In user interface mode there is no option to disable or enable this feature, you must edit the registry of windows and be careful to work registry.
Click Start button then type regedit in Run option then press Enter for next.
Here locate the location to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdrom
Here you can disable or enable automatically running your CD. Change the value of Autorun to 0 for disable and change the value to 1 for enable. At the end restart your computer for this change.
Click Start button then type regedit in Run option then press Enter for next.
Here locate the location to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdrom
Here you can disable or enable automatically running your CD. Change the value of Autorun to 0 for disable and change the value to 1 for enable. At the end restart your computer for this change.
Close All Windows Programs quickly
A cool tip to minimize and maximize all your active windows programs.
You can do all using your mouse, but if you want to do this with keyboard then simply press Windows key+M to minimize all active programs and later maximize it using Windows key+Shift+M.
If you want to minimize the all active windows programs one by one then use the shortcut by pressing Alt+Space+N keys and sequentially maximize the active windows programs using shortcut Alt+Space+X keys.
You can do all using your mouse, but if you want to do this with keyboard then simply press Windows key+M to minimize all active programs and later maximize it using Windows key+Shift+M.
If you want to minimize the all active windows programs one by one then use the shortcut by pressing Alt+Space+N keys and sequentially maximize the active windows programs using shortcut Alt+Space+X keys.
Labels:
close programs quickly,
xp tricks
Change the Icon Spacing in XP
You can manage your desktop icons in windows XP horizontally as well as vertically spacing.
You can change the location, size of icons and spacing between icons manually but you can arrange these setting using windows methods.
First Right click on your windows XP desktop then click on Properties option.
Here click the Appearance tab then go to Advance button and under Item you will find many options to change the desktop icons, for example choose icon spacing in both ways and then here you can change the size putting number (minimum or maximum) under size. When you finished all setting then click ok button.
You can change the location, size of icons and spacing between icons manually but you can arrange these setting using windows methods.
First Right click on your windows XP desktop then click on Properties option.
Here click the Appearance tab then go to Advance button and under Item you will find many options to change the desktop icons, for example choose icon spacing in both ways and then here you can change the size putting number (minimum or maximum) under size. When you finished all setting then click ok button.
Labels:
change the icon space,
Icon tricks,
xp tricks
change the boot Time in window XP
You can set the boot time in windows XP as your wish if you are install two operating systems on same computer, for example window 2000 with windows XP or more than two. Yow can do this with editing Boot.ini file. Here you can also set the sequence for operating system which operating system boot first.
First Right Click on My Computer option and then select its Properties. In next dialog box open Advanced tab button. Under Startup and Recovery, click on the Settings button. Use the spin box "Time to display list of operating systems" to set the number of seconds you want the system to wait before automatically starting the default operating system. Here you will set time in seconds and its range start from 0 and ends with 999 seconds.
After set the time, then click OK option to close the dialog box to save your change. The next time you restart, the new time will take effect.
First Right Click on My Computer option and then select its Properties. In next dialog box open Advanced tab button. Under Startup and Recovery, click on the Settings button. Use the spin box "Time to display list of operating systems" to set the number of seconds you want the system to wait before automatically starting the default operating system. Here you will set time in seconds and its range start from 0 and ends with 999 seconds.
After set the time, then click OK option to close the dialog box to save your change. The next time you restart, the new time will take effect.
Labels:
boot in time,
boot time in xp,
change the boot time,
xp tricks
Add or remove new font in Windows XP
The font represents the physical characteristics of the letters typed into the document. By default Microsoft windows XP has different types of font, for example:
Verdana (TrueType)
MS Serif
MS Sans Serif
Arial (TrueType)
Times New Roman (TrueType)
Symbol (TrueType)
Wingdings (TrueType)
If you want to add new fonts in windows XP, then first make sure, these new fonts must be TrueType fonts (Font Standard) or particularly designed for windows.
To install new fonts in your computer
Follow the given steps to add new fonts in windows default font folder:
1.To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
2.First click on Start button and type %windir%\fonts in Run option then press Ok button.
3.Go to File menu and click on Install New Font option, in the drives box, select the drives (hard drive, CD-drive or Floppy drive) that contains the new fonts. Here you can also select the Network option to install the font from network location.
4.Select the new fonts and check the option "Copy fonts to Fonts folder" then press Ok button to finish the process.
To Removing Fonts in your computer
Follow the given steps to add new fonts in windows default font folder:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
1.First click on Start button and type %windir%\fonts in Run option then press Ok button.
2.First select the font that you want to remove, Press CTRL key to select more than one font. Now go to File menu and click on Delete option.
3.Here a prompt will appear "Are you sure you want to delete these fonts?", then press Ok button to finish the process.
Verdana (TrueType)
MS Serif
MS Sans Serif
Arial (TrueType)
Times New Roman (TrueType)
Symbol (TrueType)
Wingdings (TrueType)
If you want to add new fonts in windows XP, then first make sure, these new fonts must be TrueType fonts (Font Standard) or particularly designed for windows.
To install new fonts in your computer
Follow the given steps to add new fonts in windows default font folder:
1.To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
2.First click on Start button and type %windir%\fonts in Run option then press Ok button.
3.Go to File menu and click on Install New Font option, in the drives box, select the drives (hard drive, CD-drive or Floppy drive) that contains the new fonts. Here you can also select the Network option to install the font from network location.
4.Select the new fonts and check the option "Copy fonts to Fonts folder" then press Ok button to finish the process.
To Removing Fonts in your computer
Follow the given steps to add new fonts in windows default font folder:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
1.First click on Start button and type %windir%\fonts in Run option then press Ok button.
2.First select the font that you want to remove, Press CTRL key to select more than one font. Now go to File menu and click on Delete option.
3.Here a prompt will appear "Are you sure you want to delete these fonts?", then press Ok button to finish the process.
Labels:
fonts in xp,
remove font on xp,
xp tricks
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)